Early Warning Services
Early Warning Services is a bank owned financial infrastructure company based in Scottsdale, Arizona. Seven major United States banks own it, and it has operated for more than three decades, first under the name Primary Payment Systems. It runs three brands: the Zelle payments network, the Paze digital wallet, and Certos, a portfolio of identity, account and payment risk products launched in April 2026. Certos is where the company's AI sits, and it is the focus of this profile.
Verify Identity scores in real time the likelihood that an applicant is who they claim to be. Predict New Account Risk surfaces early indicators of account misuse and first party fraud, and Verify Account confirms account ownership and status. Deposit Chek evaluates deposit risk for funds availability decisions using embedded machine learning models, while Payment Chek and Wire Chek screen payments, disbursements and wire recipients before funds are released. Expand Credit Insights adds deposit account activity to lending decisions for applicants with limited credit history. The set also includes Asset Search and Verification for government eligibility decisions, and Identity Chek alerts.
All of it runs over the National Shared Database, contributed to by participating institutions under a give to get model, for which the company acts as what it calls Trusted Custodian. It states that more than 70 percent of United States demand deposit accounts are contributed and that nine of the ten largest United States banks use a new account opening product. Certos sells to roughly 2,500 banks and credit unions and about 5,000 participants, including payment processors, merchants, government entities and identity theft protection providers. Early Warning is separately a nationwide specialty consumer reporting agency under the Fair Credit Reporting Act (FCRA), which shapes its privacy, regulatory and recourse posture. In May 2026 it partnered with an identity decisioning platform to distribute Certos into community banks and credit unions.
Capability Axes
Capability grades
15 of 15 axes rated · 7 graded A or B
Certos scores are model driven, and Predict New Account Risk and Deposit Chek exist only as model output, yet the asset beneath is a consortium database more than three decades old. Without the models, the National Shared Database, deterministic account ownership checks and the two payment networks stay intact, which is most of the company.
Customers keep full control over how insights are used under their own policies, and consumers declined an account are told the referring institution decided, not Early Warning. No threshold, gate or limit on what an institution may automate is published.
Embedded machine learning and proprietary risk scoring come with no documentation, performance figures or validation report, though their output feeds account denials and funds holds. Consumer reporting accuracy duties attach to the underlying file, not the models.
More than $11.4 trillion in transactions screened in 2025, 124 million account applications supported and nine of the top ten United States banks using a new account product are published. The $3 billion fraud prevention figure rests on unpublished internal analysis, and no customer is named with an outcome.
A give to get model pools records covering more than 70 percent of United States demand deposit accounts in the National Shared Database, with anonymization before redistribution and Early Warning as Trusted Custodian. Use limits, exit treatment and whether contributed records train the scoring models are not stated, and the banks' customers in the data cannot decline.
File access is limited by law to permissible purposes, and the consumer page sets out identity theft resources and rights for trafficking survivors under Regulation V. Subprocessors, residency and retention go unaddressed for bank account history used to decide account access.
Neither Certos nor corporate pages name a certification, attestation report or trust portal, and the product site footer carries only a privacy notice and accessibility statement. SOC reports and bank examination evidence would be expected for account screening and payment services.
Nationwide specialty consumer reporting agency status under the Fair Credit Reporting Act is defined by federal statute and supervised by the consumer financial bureau and the federal trade regulator. That status comes from operating in a regulated category rather than a license granted after examination.
Expand Credit Insights brings contributed deposit data into lending decisions for applicants with no credit history, marketed as inclusive, with no fairness testing, disparate impact analysis or adverse action guidance published. Its account opening scores also help decide who gets a bank account at all.
Free file disclosure, a published dispute and reinvestigation form, no fee to correct inaccurate information and a channel for people declined an account give the affected person a real route. It reaches the underlying record rather than the model, since a person can contest the facts but not the risk score.
Across Certos, not one model, provider, architecture or version is named. Contributing institutions are described as a quantified class, so data supply is disclosed at category level while model supply goes undisclosed.
Products sit inside account opening and payment release through a single interface that adds capabilities without new integration work, and a May 2026 partnership with an identity decisioning platform reaches community lenders. Account opening and deposit origination platforms are not named as certified connectors.
Hosting, region, tenancy and residency all go unmentioned, though the domestic operation implies United States residency without stating it. Where the National Shared Database and inquiry data are processed is the open point.
Pricing, tiers and pricing basis go unpublished across Certos, and the commercial route is a contact form listing products of interest. How price relates to inquiry volume, or to the data an institution contributes, is not stated.
Roughly 2,500 banks and credit unions and about 5,000 participants are served, with product mappings for financial institutions, payment processors and government entities, plus a dedicated government benefit eligibility product. Institution size runs from its owner banks to community lenders, and the operation covers the United States only.
Alternatives to Early Warning Services
Vendors in the same categories as Early Warning Services whose profiles look most alike, each with a line on what the product does. Similar is not the same: check that each one does the job you need. No vendor pays for placement.
OneSpan is a Chicago based, publicly listed security vendor built on the authentication business formerly known as Vasco, serving more than 10,000 customers including over half of the…
Fraud.net unifies fraud prevention, anti money laundering compliance and risk management on one platform for banks, credit unions, payment processors, acquirers, remittance companies…
TrustDecision, headquartered in Singapore with offices in Malaysia, Indonesia, the Philippines, the United Arab Emirates, Saudi Arabia, Mexico and Hong Kong, sells fraud, credit and…
Accertify is an enterprise fraud prevention and payments company based in Itasca, Illinois, and led by president Mark Michelon.
BioCatch analyzes how a person physically and cognitively interacts with online and mobile banking, covering typing cadence, navigation patterns, hesitation and signs of duress, and turns…
Refine Intelligence automates the customer outreach banks use to resolve fraud and AML alerts.
The index publishes no overall score or ranking. See what we assess and the methodology.
Pricing
Vendor-published figures are labeled as such. Figures labeled “Estimated” are derived from third-party sources and have not been confirmed by the vendor.
No pricing data has been verified for this vendor. Pricing information will be published here once confirmed through vendor disclosure or third-party estimation.