Tracelight
Tracelight is an AI platform for building, checking and presenting financial models, used by deal, valuation and diligence teams at private equity firms, investment banks, corporate development groups and advisory firms. It works inside Excel, PowerPoint and Word through add ins, and on its own web platform. An analyst can ask it to build an operating model, a leveraged buyout or a discounted cash flow valuation to the firm's own template, refresh a comparable companies table, map a trial balance into financial statements, or turn a live model into an investment committee deck in which every figure is cited to its source. Its model review feature audits a workbook for broken links, wrong references, sign flips and other logic faults, and every edit the agent makes arrives as a changeset a person can inspect.
The company was founded in London in 2024 by Peter Fuller, Aleksander Misztal and Janek Zimoch, and raised a $3.6 million seed round led by Chalfen Ventures in 2025. Customers shown on its site include Arma Partners, Puma Growth Partners, Vistra, RSM and Armanino. It publishes its own benchmark, run across 80 real Excel models, comparing its agent with the leading general models from Anthropic and OpenAI on building formulas and finding planted errors. It sells on security as much as on speed: a SOC 2 Type II audit, a contractual promise never to train on customer data, and a choice of hosting region for enterprise customers.
Capability Axes
Capability grades
15 of 15 axes rated · 11 graded A or B
Every core job runs through the agent: building and extending models, reviewing them for errors, answering questions about them and turning them into slides and documents. Strip out the models and what remains is a set of Office add ins and a project workspace with nothing to do. The company's own engineering sits in how spreadsheet structure is translated for the model and in the checks applied to every change, and both exist to make the inference usable.
Oversight is built into how changes land. Users can plan a task with the agent before any calculation is done, switch between an automatic mode and a control mode for reviewing what it proposes, and inspect every edit in a changeset that checks formula health, flags unintended hard coded values and preserves the surrounding structure and formatting.
AI actions are logged, a precedent tree shows how any cell is linked, and a workbook comparison shows every change between two versions with a summary of its impact. The vendor's benchmark also counts how often an agent edits cells it was not asked to touch, which is the failure a spreadsheet owner most needs to control.
The company publishes its own benchmark with the method laid out. Agents were scored on exact formula correctness, cell by cell, across 240 prompts on 80 real Excel models in three difficulty tiers, and a correct number typed in as a value scores zero. A second test planted 480 realistic errors in the same models and measured how many each system found and how many of its findings were real.
Tracelight scored 75 percent on modeling and found 68 percent of the planted errors, figures that also tell a buyer a quarter of cells and nearly a third of errors were missed. The test is run by the vendor rather than an independent party, but the method is specific enough to repeat, and changesets, cell level citations and precedent tracing give a team the means to check the output on its own models.
Named customers appear on the company's site, including Arma Partners, Puma Growth Partners, Vistra, RSM and Armanino, but no case study ties a named firm to a measured result. The figures on offer, such as decks built 80 to 90 percent faster and early users at banks and private equity firms reporting time savings above 90 percent on standard modeling tasks, are attached to use cases or unnamed users. The company's own benchmark is the strongest performance evidence available and is covered under model risk.
A contractual guarantee states that customer data is never used to train any model, its own or a third party's, and the model providers behind the service operate under zero data retention terms. Customers set their own retention, enterprise spreadsheet data is deleted immediately after processing, and the free audit tool keeps no spreadsheet data at all. Together these answer both questions a bank or fund will ask: what is kept, and what it is used for.
Customer data is defined broadly, covering uploads, connected files, prompts and outputs, and is stored only to run the service. Customers decide which data is processed, set retention, delete at any time and can export everything when an agreement ends, after which their data and any dedicated resources are permanently deleted. A data processing agreement is published and a subprocessor list is kept in the trust center. Nothing addresses the Gramm Leach Bliley Act or how a bank's client information should be handled inside a model.
A SOC 2 Type II audit by an independent party is complete, and a trust center run on Vanta holds the documentation. Regular third party penetration tests cover the whole platform, data is encrypted with TLS 1.2 or later in transit and 256 bit AES at rest, and single sign on runs over SAML 2.0 so firms can enforce multifactor authentication. ISO 27001 is described as an alignment with the standard rather than a certification, and buyers should read it that way.
No license or supervised status is held, and none would be expected for a modeling tool. Customers use it for valuations, diligence and investment committee materials that sit inside their own regulatory and professional obligations, and nothing published addresses that boundary.
No governance framework or bias evaluation is published. The judgment calls that matter here are how the agent proposes assumptions and which figure it uses when sources conflict. The benchmark measures formula accuracy and error finding, not those choices, and while firm specific style guides and skills shape the output, how they are governed is not described.
No liability position, accuracy warranty or remediation route for errors in agent built work is published. The company's own benchmark shows the agent misses some errors, and the product is used on live deals and client deliverables, so who bears a missed error is the open question.
The model providers are not named on the public site. Pricing tiers promise premium and latest model access, the founders describe the product as bringing frontier models into Excel, and the security page says model providers work under zero data retention terms, all of which confirm third party models without saying whose. A subprocessor list kept in the trust center may name them.
The agent runs inside Excel, PowerPoint and Word through add ins approved for Microsoft 365, which request only the minimum permissions each task needs, and on a web platform that keeps chats, files and outputs together by project. Paid plans include integration access through the Model Context Protocol, and comparable company work pulls in Capital IQ tickers. Decks and documents stay tied to the model, so numbers remain consistent when the model changes. It is not itself a system of record, and the core working environment belongs to Microsoft.
Enterprise customers choose where their data is stored and processed, with the EU, the United States and Australia offered and other regions available, and the company commits to keeping data in the chosen region. EU residency and processing also anchor its GDPR position. That is a residency control the customer holds, not a statement of where the vendor happens to host.
Prices are published for the individual plans. A free trial gives limited platform access, limited chat and three model review runs. Pro costs $40 a month with higher usage limits, a confidential mode and access to premium models and integrations. Max costs $200 a month for five times the usage of Pro plus priority support. Enterprise is quoted and adds unlimited usage, a firm wide skill library, single sign on, configurable retention and an admin hub for tracking and billing. The usage limits themselves are not stated, so a team cannot tell from the page how far a plan stretches.
Published use cases cover private equity underwriting and portfolio reporting, mergers and acquisitions, valuations, corporate development, and financial and commercial due diligence. Named customers span an investment bank advising technology companies (Arma Partners), a growth investor (Puma Growth Partners), a fund and corporate services provider (Vistra) and two accounting and advisory firms (RSM and Armanino), so financial institutions sit alongside advisory practices. Hosting regions in the EU, the United States and Australia point to an international base. No customer count is published.
Alternatives to Tracelight
Vendors in the same categories as Tracelight whose profiles look most alike, each with a line on what the product does. Similar is not the same: check that each one does the job you need. No vendor pays for placement.
Capsa AI sells an AI operating system to private equity firms and other private capital investors.
Finster AI sells an AI research and agent platform to investment banks, asset managers and private credit firms.
Boosted.ai builds Alfa, an AI research system that watches companies, portfolios and market events and writes sourced briefs and memos.
Cognaize extracts decision ready information from the most complex unstructured financial documents, including credit agreements, financial reports, ESG disclosures, loan applications…
Kruncher sells private market intelligence to venture capital and private equity firms, multi family offices and secondaries investors.
ToltIQ, formerly DiligentIQ, sells AI due diligence software to private markets deal teams.
The index publishes no overall score or ranking. See what we assess and the methodology.
Pricing
Vendor-published figures are labeled as such. Figures labeled “Estimated” are derived from third-party sources and have not been confirmed by the vendor.
| Entry Price | Pricing Basis | Data Protection Terms | Implementation | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
|
Free trial. Pro $40 a month. Max $200 a month. Enterprise quoted.
|
Monthly subscription per user for individual plans. The free trial covers limited platform access, limited chat, three model review runs, Tracelight Apps and limited use of the Excel, PowerPoint and Word add ins. Pro at $40 a month raises usage limits and adds a confidential mode, integration access and premium models. Max at $200 a month gives five times the usage of Pro with priority support and early features. Enterprise is quoted, with unlimited usage across the platform, the latest models, single sign on, configurable retention and centralized billing. | Data protection terms are strong at every paid level and step up for enterprise. Customer data is never used to train any model under a contractual guarantee, and model providers operate under zero data retention terms. Pro adds a confidential mode. Enterprise adds configurable retention, a choice of hosting region in the EU, the United States, Australia or elsewhere, single sign on and an admin hub. A data processing agreement is published. | No implementation fee is published. Individual plans start from a sign up with no sales call. Enterprise includes deployment and onboarding support and an org wide custom skill library, with no separate rate stated. | Vendor Published |
Prices are the vendor's own, in US dollars. The plans are described by relative usage, with Max at five times Pro, but the underlying limits are not stated, so a heavy user should test a working month on Pro before deciding between the two.