Temenos
Temenos sells core banking, digital banking, payments, wealth and financial crime software to more than 950 banks, which run it on premises, in their own cloud or as software as a service on the Temenos Banking Cloud. Founded in 1993 and listed on the SIX Swiss Exchange, it is headquartered in Geneva.
Its AI sits inside those products. The Financial Crime Mitigation (FCM) AI Agent evaluates low risk sanctions screening alerts automatically and explains each decision in plain language, Copilot for Core helps staff serve customers, Copilot for Workbench writes code extensions that experts approve, and AI Studio lets a bank build, validate, deploy and monitor its own models, with ready model families for retail credit scoring, wealth next best product and sanctions screening. Hamilton Reserve Bank moved to fully digital onboarding on Temenos Digital, cutting account opening from five days to 20 minutes.
Capability Axes
Capability grades
15 of 15 axes rated · 9 graded A or B
Trading since 1993, Temenos built the core ledger, digital banking, payments and wealth products long before its model layer arrived in 2025 and 2026, and all of them would remain without it. The May 7, 2026 release itself argues for intelligence built into products banks already trust rather than AI added on top.
The FCM AI Agent evaluates low risk screening alerts automatically, without human intervention, and leaves complex and high risk cases to compliance staff. The threshold that separates the two and any sampling audit of closed alerts are not published. Copilot for Workbench changes are reviewed and approved by experts before they are promoted across environments.
AI Studio covers the model lifecycle from development and validation to deployment and monitoring, with reason codes, feature contributions, model documentation and audit ready lineage for each model. Validation results, recall and a mapping to a supervisory framework are not published, and the FCM AI Agent's false positive rate below 2 percent comes with no figure for true matches retained. The agent explains in plain language how each screening decision was formed.
Hamilton Reserve Bank cut onboarding for individual accounts from five days to 20 minutes and raised staff productivity 250 percent on Temenos Digital, an IDC Real Results winner in 2026. Those figures measure the digital banking platform, not Temenos's AI. The figures behind the AI are not tied to a named bank: banks report doubling hit evaluation efficiency in screening, and the FCM AI Agent was built with an unnamed European tier one bank. Listing on the SIX Swiss Exchange brings audited scale figures each quarter.
Whether bank data trains models shared across clients, and how long the model layer keeps it, is not stated. A single code base serves every client, and Copilot for Core is described as following responsible AI and data confidentiality practices without saying what those practices are.
What customer data the AI agents and copilots process or retain is not addressed. Temenos Cloud Switzerland carries the EU Cloud Code of Conduct trustmark on the Cloud Security Alliance registry, an attested route to compliance with the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) for cloud providers, and the Banking Cloud's contracts are written to that regulation.
The Temenos Banking Cloud holds ISO/IEC 27001 certification and a SOC 2 report. Its Cloud Security Alliance registry entry, public since 2021, carries Security, Trust, Assurance and Risk (STAR) Level 1 and Level 2 listings and the Trusted Cloud Provider trustmark, so a buyer can open the control responses without asking.
Clients hold the banking authorizations, and Temenos states no regulatory position for its model layer. The FCM AI Agent is described as a high accuracy model accepted by regulators in screening, with no regulator or decision named, and the Banking Cloud supports clients' work with supervisors from the Federal Financial Institutions Examination Council to the Financial Conduct Authority.
AI Studio sells ready model families for retail credit scoring, and Temenos publishes nothing on fair lending, disparate impact or adverse action for them. Its models come with reason codes, feature contributions and documentation, which a lender can use to explain a decision, but bias testing or a fairness evaluation is not published for any model or agent. Explainable, auditable and governed are the stated principles.
Immutable logging of all system processes gives an institution a record to reconstruct what an agent did, but Temenos publishes nothing on liability, indemnity or recourse when an agent errs. Both failure directions in sanctions screening land on identified people: a customer wrongly restricted or a screening obligation quietly unmet.
Model providers, versions and a subprocessor list are not named for any agent or copilot. The agent stack runs on Microsoft Azure AI services and Nvidia microservices with a Model Context Protocol implementation, and AI Studio lets a bank build and deploy its own models.
Other software integrates into Temenos as the core banking system, and its AI Agents and Copilots, Copilot for Core among them, sit inside those systems of record. Its interface first architecture spans core, digital banking, payments and wealth, and the July 2026 additiv acquisition adds wealth orchestration.
Where the copilots and agents execute when a bank runs on premises is not stated. Temenos software runs on premises, in a private or public cloud or as software as a service on the Temenos Banking Cloud, and AI Studio models run in cloud, on premises or hybrid environments.
Pricing, bands and rates are unpublished for the platform and the model layer alike. Disclosed revenue splits across subscription, software as a service, term license and maintenance describe the vendor's model, not a price, and whether the AI Agents come bundled or metered is left open.
More than 950 banks run Temenos core banking and 600 run its digital banking, across retail, business, corporate, commercial, wealth and Islamic banking, each with its own products. Named customers include Hamilton Reserve Bank, Sacombank and GO Telecom, which launched lending services in Saudi Arabia on Temenos core and digital.
Product updates
Material product, regulatory, evidence and commercial changes at Temenos, each verified against a live source and tagged to the capability axis it bears on. Funding rounds and awards are not product changes and are not logged.
Temenos published its 2026 Performance Benchmark report, which reports 16,385 transactions per second in a composable core banking benchmark environment run on Temenos SaaS on Microsoft Azure.
Alternatives to Temenos
Vendors in the same categories as Temenos whose profiles look most alike, each with a line on what the product does. Similar is not the same: check that each one does the job you need. No vendor pays for placement.
Backbase sells an engagement platform that sits above a bank's existing core, payments, cards, risk and customer relationship systems rather than replacing them.
NETinfo sells a digital banking platform from Nicosia, Cyprus, where it has built online banking software since 2000.
Q2 Holdings sells the digital engagement layer that banks, credit unions, alternative finance companies and fintechs put in front of their customers, spanning retail, small business and…
Revio Insight shows community and regional banks and credit unions where their customers are banking elsewhere and where deposits are leaving.
ebankIT sells an omnichannel digital banking platform to banks and credit unions, running web, mobile and branch channels for retail, small business and commercial customers on one stack.
Kore.ai builds an enterprise agent platform, rebuilt in May 2026 as Artemis, on which organizations design, deploy, govern and optimize AI agents, and it ships AI for Banking as a prebuilt…
The index publishes no overall score or ranking. See what we assess and the methodology.
Pricing
Vendor-published figures are labeled as such. Figures labeled “Estimated” are derived from third-party sources and have not been confirmed by the vendor.
No pricing data has been verified for this vendor. Pricing information will be published here once confirmed through vendor disclosure or third-party estimation.